2007 High School Scholarship Essay Contest

Announcement of Winners in
2007 High School Scholarship Essay Contest

The Sacramento Chapter of Physicians for Social Responsibility congratulates the winners in the 2007 PSR/Sacramento Scholarship Essay Contest. These students were chosen from a field of 165 entries for their outstanding essays on this year’s prompt, “You can bomb the world to pieces, but you can’t bomb it into peace,” from the song, “Bomb the World” by Michael Franti. The top three winners and the other 7 finalists are:

1st Place – Elissa Ouchida, John F. Kennedy High School, Sacramento

2nd Place – Shereen Hamadeh, Folsom High School, Folsom (Sacramento Bee article)

3rd Place – Tina Law, C.K. McClatchy High School, Sacramento

Please view the top three finalists presenting their essays at a May 3, 2007 local event.

Other Finalists
David Azevedo, Saint Mary’s High School, Stockton

Molly Bennett, Mira Loma High School, Sacramento

Kyle Buchoff, Davis Senior High School, Davis

Katherine Greenstein, Loretto High School, Sacramento

Elliot Helms, Sheldon High School, Elk Grove

Anonymous, Davis Senior High School, Davis

Elizabeth Storer, Amador High School, Sutter Creek

Click on the student’s name to read his or her essay

The ten student finalists presented their essays orally at the Scholarship Essay Contest Finals Dinner held on Sunday, April 22, at the Sacramento State Alumni Center. The first, second, and third place winners were chosen by a panel of distinguished members of the community, including former Sacramento County Supervisor Illa Collin, Sacramento State Department of Government Chairperson Professor Bahman Fozouni, acclaimed artist Malaquias Montoya, Sacramento City Unified School District assistant Superintendent Arturo Flores, and noted progressive clergymen Reverend Tim Malone and Reverend David Thompson. Winners were chosen based on the originality, cohesiveness, and overall impact of their essays, as well as their impromptu responses to questions from the judges. The first place winner received a $2,500 scholarship, second place a $1,500 scholarship, and third place a $1,000 scholarship. The other seven finalists received $500 scholarships each.

Thanks to everyone who helped make the 2007 PSR/Sacramento Scholarship Essay Contest a great success, and in particular, to all the students who entered the contest.